Board Of Directors release

Board Of Directors release


December 7, 2011, Mullins, S.C. – Representatives from Marion County Healthcare Foundation today announced the list of members serving on the board of directors.

The eleven members who make up the board of directors include: Bruce Siegal, Clem Ham, Johnny R. Floyd, Edward Whittington, Jr., Reverend Charles R. Johnson, Sylvia Holmes, Janie McClellan Johnson, Mary G. Eaddy, Dianne Herrington, Edwin P. Rogers, Jr. and Dr. Gangi Mathisuthan.

Siegal is a graduate of New York University and former vice president of Marvel Lamp Company. He served as president of Supreme Lighting in Mullins from 1980 – 1999 and has served on several boards of directors including Davis National Bank, First National South and Anchor Bank. In addition, Siegal is the former chairman of the board for MRHS and current board chairman of Marion County Healthcare Foundation.

Ham graduated from the University of South Carolina and entered a hospital administration internship at the Charlotte Mecklenburg Hospital System.  He has served in the healthcare industry for over 50 years, including being employed by a large county hospital district in the upstate of South Carolina and more recently the Marion County Hospital District in Marion County.  He had the responsibility of planning and implementing the merger of hospitals in both districts.  Since his retirement in 2001 he has continued his work in the healthcare industry as a board member of the Marion County Healthcare Foundation.

Reverend Johnson has been the Pastor of First Friendship Baptist Church in Nichols for the past 28 years. He is an active member of the Pee Dee community, serving as home mission commissioner and Regional Leader of District 1 for the Pee Dee Baptist Association. Johnson is also a member of M/CAP (the Marion County Missing and Exploited Children Comprehensive Action Program), MC CAN (Marion County Collaborative Action Network CDC), and the United Fund of Marion County, Inc.

Floyd, who currently serves as Vice President and Marion County Executive of Anderson Brothers Bank, graduated from Francis Marion University, the South Carolina Bankers School and the Graduate School of Banking at Louisiana State University. In addition, he is a graduate of Palmetto Leadership, Leadership South Carolina and the South Carolina Economic Development School. He has served on several boards of directors including Marion County Progress, Mullins Rotary Club and United Fund of Marion County and is the recipient of numerous awards in recognition of his service to the community.

Whittington, a graduate of the University of South Carolina where he also received his Juris Doctor, has been practicing law in Mullins for the past 37 years. He has served on several boards of directors such as Pee Dee Academy, the Davis National Bank, First National South and the Mullins Rotary Club. He also maintains memberships to the South Carolina Bar Association, the Marion County Bar Association, the South Carolina Trial Lawyers Association, the South Carolina Criminal Defense Association and serves on the Commission on Lawyer Conduct panel.

Holmes, who graduated from Morris College and received her master of education degree from Francis Marion University, is the chairperson of the English and Humanities Department at Florence-Darlington Technical College. Holmes has served as president of the Florence-Darlington Technical College Faculty-Senate and as chairperson on the Marion School District Seven School Board, among others. She currently serves as the vice-chairman of the Trustee Board and Director of the Christian Education Department at the Tabernacle A.M.E. Church.

Johnson has served as president and CEO of Insurance Investment Services for 17 years. A former educator with a master of arts from Georgetown University, Johnson plays and active role in her community as a member of Palmetto Leadership, NAACP, Marion Kiwanis Club, Leadership Montgomery and the National Business League. She is continuing her community activities as a member of the Marion Regional Healthcare System and the Marion County Healthcare Foundation. She served as campaign manager for South Carolina Senate District 30. She is also a member of St. John AME Church where she holds several positions, including chairperson of the Commission on Stewardship and Finance and Superintendent of Sunday School.

Eaddy, who is a graduate of Morris College and recipient of a master of education from SC State College, is an active member in several community and service organizations. She serves the City of Marion on several committees including the Citizens’ Advisory Committee, Zoning Commission and Block Grant Committee, and serves on the board of directors for Marion County Habitat for Humanity and the Marion Clothing Closet. In addition, she is actively involved in several church organizations including the Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church, where she serves as church clerk and Sunday school teacher. 

Herrington, a lifelong resident of Marion County, is a graduate of Francis Marion College.  She currently works with South Carolina Works. She served as the Human Resources Manager with Johnson Controls in Florence and Sara Lee in Marion for many years, and has served two years on the Marion Regional Healthcare System board of directors. She is a former board member of the Marion Rotary Club and Marion United Way, and served on the Board of Trustees for Francis Marion University for eight years. At present, she is serving on the Board of directors for the Marion Chamber of Commerce.

Rogers, a graduate of Clemson University, presently serves as the city administrator for the city of Mullins. Prior to this role, Rogers served as the city planner for Mullins, county administrator for Marion County, economic development and planning director for Marion and grant manager for the Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments.
Dr. Gangi Mathi, Board Certified in Internal Medicine, is a physician with Marion County Medical Center. Dr. Mathisuthan completed his residency at Polyclinic Medical Center and practiced as an attending physician at Geisinger Medical Center prior to joining the former Mullins Hospital and Advanced Medical Associates in 1996. Dr. Mathi has served as President of the Medical Staff, Chief of Medicine, and Chairman of the Credentials Committee of Marion Regional Healthcare System. He is currently the Director of Hospice Services, and a member of the American Board of Internal Medicine and the South Carolina Medical Association.

“We are very pleased to welcome all of these respected and active community members to our board of directors,” said Gene Tucker, director of Marion County Healthcare Foundation. “We are fully confident in their ability to be the voice of our Foundation, and are happy to have them involved in our operations.”   

About Marion County Healthcare Foundation

The Marion County Healthcare Foundation’s objective is to aid, support, manage, conduct and provide healthcare services, promote health and wellness and improve the quality of life in Marion County and surrounding communities.

The Foundation is organized exclusively for charitable, educational and scientific purposes including, but not limited to, for such purposes of making distributions to organizations, which qualify as exempt organizations under Section 501. (c).(3) of the IRS revenue code.

For more information about Marion County Healthcare Foundation, please call (843) 464-0533.